HTTP Proxy Servlet

One thing about writing AJAX calls is that you are limited to calling the same server for security reasons. To work around this issue, I gave this proxy a try and it worked for me and saved me time writing my own.

The follow-up questions I have about this proxy implementations are:
1. It’s only a binary distribution? Not open source?
2. I didn’t see any license information. Is this in public domain?
3. Any potential security risks for this implementation?

Let me know if you know the answers to these questions.

15 thoughts on “HTTP Proxy Servlet

  1. Hi Dave,
    Will this proxy servlet allow me to point a Web application flex/flash application to the proxy and relay a POST to some URL still via HTTPS and then return the asynch RESPONSE value (a string) to my flex/flash application (a true proxy). Just need to be able to go through a server rather than direct from the client. Its a credit card thing.

    e.g.ACTION=”https://developer.skipjackic.com/scripts/EvolvCC.dll?Authorize” METHOD=POST

    This is a credit card processor

  2. How did you configure things on the client (Flex) side in order to use this proxy? Do you have any usage examples you can share?

  3. Hi anon,

    That’s my question in my initial blog post. You know the answer?

    Hi Joshua,

    Just go to that link I provided at the top. That page has the documentation. You basically just drop the jar file in your classpath for your web app, define the web.xml just like the example in the documentation, and you can call the proxy from your client. Hope this helps.

  4. I was wondering the same things, Dave. I’m always suspicious of free “closed source” code.
    I might end up writing my own if I get tired of looking for one.

  5. At this time it sounds like Drupal is the preferred blogging platform out there right
    now. (from what I’ve read) Is that what you are using on your blog?

  6. Hey just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your article seem to be running off the screen in Safari.
    I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but
    I thought I’d post to let you know. The design and style
    look great though! Hope you get the problem solved soon.
    Kudos

Leave a Reply

