Notes on installing Skype on Ubuntu/AMD64

Here are my notes for installing Skype on Ubuntu/AMD6:

1. Download 32bit version of Skype from http://www.skype.com/go/getskype-linux-deb
2. Download 32bit version of libqt from http://packages.ubuntu.com/
3. Install Skype

sudo dpkg --force-architecture -i skype_debian-1.3.0.53-1_i386.deb
4. Install 32bit libraries and linux32
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs lib32asound2 lib32ncurses5 ia32-libs-sdl ia32-libs-gtk lib32stdc++6 linux32

5. Install 32bit libqt

sudo dpkg --force-architecture -i libqt3-mt_3.3.6-1ubuntu6.1_i386.deb

6. (Optional) Check if skype still miss libraries

ldd /usr/bin/skype

7. Run skype

linux32 skype&

Special thanks to Inigo Montoya's post on this same topic. I've expanded it with my notes.

40 thoughts on “Notes on installing Skype on Ubuntu/AMD64

  1. I have tryed your guide and one more before that, but all i get is this error:
    “skype: error while loading shared libraries: libaudio.so.2: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory”
    and yes, I have done step 4. Install 32bit libraries and linux32.
    Any ideas?

  2. Not sure if this is true for [x]Ubuntu’s, but probably. If you already have 64-bit libqt installed, dpkg –force-architecture will clobber the 64-bit version, which will probably cause problems for you.

    In regular Debian, say you need to add 32-bit libqt. The “Debian” way is:


    $ # Locate the 32-bit .deb and download someplace
    $ sudo dpkg -X .deb /emul/ia32-linux
    $ sudo ldconfig

    From /usr/share/doc/ia32-libs/README.Debian

    HTH
    Larry.

  3. Sorry. That snippet should say:


    $# Locate the 32-bit .deb and download someplace
    $ sudo dpkg -X 32-bit-deb.deb /emul/ia32-linux
    $ sudo ldconfig

  4. Thanks for sharing your tip. I was just wondering how to do it the right way after Ubuntu complained about “broken” package after force the install and asked me to run the fix command. Again, thanks for sharing your tip.

  5. Now I geting the “broken” package message, and all the time I fix it the skype stop working again.

    I’ll try the chroot solution.

    Thank you any way. It was a good solution for a wile.

  6. This breaks the few KDE apps I have and then Ubuntu gives me a broken package warning. If i let Synaptic fix the package (qt) then my handful of kapps works but Skype stops working.

    There’s some detail wrong about your instructions. Thanks!

  7. Hi Dave,
    Very nice, worked fine. I just havent found the libqt you sad above… I used libqt3-mt_3.3.6-1ubuntu6.2_i386.deb instead and worked fine.

    Thanks!

    Should you not post it on the ubuntu/Forum? I have looked there before and they dont have anything.

    simba

  8. Hi Simba,

    Good to hear that you were able to get libqt installed.

    WordPress and maybe search engines have indexed my blog entries and this entry has been popular. So, I am happy people like you were able to find this blog and benefit from it. You are welcome to link to this blog if you would like to share it with others.

  9. Hi Dave

    Thanks for your notes, which work perfectly on my Ubuntu 6.06 64 bit. However (as others noted before) the

    sudo dpkg –force-architecture -i libqt3-mt_3.3.6-1ubuntu6.2_i386.deb

    leaves the 32-bit QT lib in /usr/lib (where no 32 bit lib should ever be!). This kills all apps that use the 64 bit QT and it leaves skype vulnerable: as soon as you install anything that uses QT the 32-bit lib will be replaced without warning and skype will not work anymore.

    To fix this situation, I copied libqt by hand to /usr/lib32 where it belongs. And I made the two required symbolic links:

    root@uetli:/usr/lib32# ll *qt*
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 2007-06-16 12:23 libqt-mt.so.3 -> libqt-mt.so.3.3.6
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 2007-06-16 12:22 libqt-mt.so.3.3 -> libqt-mt.so.3.3.6
    -rw-r–r– 1 root root 8275888 2007-06-16 12:21 libqt-mt.so.3.3.6

    Then I installed the normal 64-bit libqt using Synaptic and verified that the 32-bit version in /usr/lib gets replaced ceanly and that

    linux32 skype

    still works.

    I am sure there is a better way to do this, but it worked nicely for me.

    Hansruedi

  10. That was a pretty short intro from me. I see you did this well before I did my own guide. As others have said, the correct way is to extract all the debians into a directory and then move their usr/lib to your /usr/lib32
    On debian systems (NOT ubuntu) instead you just extract straight to /emul/ia32-linux (like lmm said).

  11. Hi, Dave. All entries I post with a URL and some hyperlink is discarded. Impossible to write a comment with any useful information…

  12. Instead of using libqt3, you should use the latest version libqt4 which is endorsed by ubuntu for your ubuntu version. I use Synaptic Package Manager to install and download stuffs.
    In Ubuntu 8.04 hardy, libqt4 is the one recommended. lib32 and ia32 are already installed. So the only thing to do is:

    1. Install libqt4 using System > Administration > Synaptic Package Manager. click search field, type “libqt4”, click search button. Right click “libqt4-core” and mark for installation. Do the same with “libqt4-gui”. Click Apply.

    2. Download latest skype for ubuntu mine is 2.0.0.68-1.
    sudo dpkg –force-architecture -i skype-debian-yourlatestversion_i386.deb

    That’s it. it should work.

  13. Thx to everyone who contributed to this blog. Battled with installing Skype on Ubuntu 7.10 64-bit and was losing, almost at the point of giving up then… clovepower’s advice has done the trick for me. Yeehaa.

    Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

