Notes on installing Fedora Core 6 over FTP/HTTP

Since Fedora’s web site was down during this past week, the installation guide was also unavailable. Here are my quick notes on using the network installation option. Why use the network installation option? You only need to download one ISO file instead of two, or all five. Unless you are installing on more than one machine, network install option could be a good option to consider. Here are my notes:

  1. Download the first ISO file from one of the mirrors. Run sha1sum check to make sure you downloaded correctly.
  2. Burn the ISO file to a CD
  3. Boot up the target machien with the CD. At the initial prompt, type “linux askmethod” and press enter. You might want to run through the check media step available with the installer.
  4. When the installer asks you what method you want to install, choose ftp or http depending on which mirror you want to use.
  5. Enter the host name and directory name for the mirror of your choice. For example: “mymirrorserver.com” and “/fedora/core/6/i386/os”
  6. If you get an error that complained about not able to read repomd.xml, you might want to try a different mirror.

During installation, you can press Ctrl-Alt-F3 to see rolling installation log, Ctrl-Alt-F4 to see rolling dmesg log. Ctrl-Alt-F6 to get back to the graphical installer.
Have fun!

21 thoughts on “Notes on installing Fedora Core 6 over FTP/HTTP

  1. Hi,
    your info on the blog was very nice to bump into seeing that I did not want to burn 4 cd’s. The only thing I needed help with was the last part where it mentioned if I ran into the repomd.xml issue. I tried about 4 different mirrors so far and none have worked. Do not mean to bother you on this but if there a exact site name and path name that you choose that works.
    I am pretty much inserting the url as site name when I clicked on your mirror link and the put in the ftp path name. any thoughts?
    Mark

  2. Hi Mark,

    Thanks for your positive comments. I certainly appreciate you for pointing out the missing detail. I actually don’t remember the exact server that worked for me. Perhaps other readers of this blog entry might be able to share what worked for them.

    Good luck,

    Dave

  3. I used the HTTP method with the following:
    Server: download.fedora.redhat.com
    Directory:/pub/fedora/linux/core/6/i386/os

    It is loading as I write this.

    Jeff

  4. Instead of having to download the ISO for the entire disc1, you can download the CD boot ISO (only 8 MB). It can be found at “/pub/fedora/linux/core/6/i386/os/images/boot.iso” using the mirror mentioned by Jeff above.

  5. Hi Chris, Great tip. Thanks for sharing. This reminded me of my earlier days when using 3.5″ floppies to do a network install.

  6. Hmm I found a mirror for anyone that is close to Colorado: mirror.colorado.edu

    Surf it with your browser and check what distro you want to install.

    Peace.

  7. Nice write up, I needed a reminder on how to do this and was spot on. Instead of downloading the full disc 1 iso, or the extra small tiny boot.iso, I opted for the rescue iso, as this does double duty, works for the install, isn’t that big a download and also will come in handy one day when I need a boot CD for this system I’m working on. Thanks!

  8. I cannot locate an FC8 location on download.fedora.redhat.com(like there is for FC6). Anyone have a valid location to install FC8 using http?

  9. hello all, think i got a little problem with all that.
    do i need to configure an IP before i can get the files downloaded on the http or what do i lack really.
    i got an error sayin it can’t locate the directory of the download given by Jeff

  10. I think everything published was very logical. But, what about this?
    suppose you composed a catchier title? I am not suggesting your
    content is nott solid., however what if youu added something
    that grabbed folk’s attention? I mean Notes on installing
    Fedora Core 6 over FTP/HTTP | Dave’s Blogs is a little vanilla.
    You should look at Yahoo’s front page and
    watch how they create news headlines to grab viewers interested.
    You might try adding a video or a related picture or two to get readers
    excited about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it
    might bring your blog a little livelier.

Leave a Reply

